text

text

Achim Stiermann is an artist who situates his work at the center of a plastic society and consumer world. From this environment he gathers the construction materials that become the elements of his art works.

His works are idea-based and have a transdiciplinary approach. He often operates in public spaces beyond the classical exhibition setting.

The drinking straw enthusiast also likes to apply other soft and fragile materials from everyday life: beneath drinking straws are noodles, sugar cubes, styrofoam or cardboard. In his sculptures and installations he attempts to set these materials in new spatial and conceptual contexts.

Stiermann plays between worlds of components and genres. He consistantly melts and newly reassembles the functions of his materials and spatial combinations. In their net-like structure the following spatial drawings accomplish a mimicry of the digital.

His image carriers, taken from the everyday life, are dashed – literally – into new dimensions over and over again. Such shifts in oscillation, tension and relaxation and released from their original function, they suddenly show a completely new quality: the banal becomes weird, functional, funny and poetic – sometimes all at once.

In the spatial formulation and visual world of Stiermann they all collide: stasis and movement, analog and digital, fragile and stable, chaos and order, the enforced logic and its failure, the water tight concept and the queer in the pitch – absurd combinations with a nifty tounge-in-cheek.


Thomas Elsen
Full Tubes at Full Tilt: Achim Stiermann at the Augsburg Höhmannhaus

The field of Achim Stiermann’s artistic activity eludes characterization in terms of conventional classifications. He himself roundly resists such labelling. Stiermann works in the studio just as scrupulously as in the public space, operates in a transdisciplinary way as a creative experimenter in the widest sense. His practice oscillates between spontaneity and persistence, humor and experimental curiosity, and the great technical precision with which he brings his ideas into reality is leavened by an obvious fondness for the absurd. This likely holds for all of the media employed in his projects to date – for the conceptual paintings and kinetic objects as much as for the performative stag- ings or the medium of the moving picture. Stiermann’s reservoir of ideas seems far from being exhausted, and the range of forms through which his ideas are transformed into art is accordingly large.
continue


Marina Grzinic
Reconstructing the Processor
Roland Seidel and Achim Stiermann’s »MAN OS 1 / Extraordinateur«
Springerin 03/06

Roland Seidel and Achim Stiermann’s project MAN OS 1 / extraordinateur is a performative video film work lasting around fifteen minutes, a work on whose realization the artists have spent a couple of years. The work was completed recently, although it bears the hallmarks of being a work in progress. This is saying nothing new; everything today is open to processuality, and processuality seems to be the never-ending story of contemporary art works. However, the logic here is a different one, and I just hope that the mainstream media capitalist commercial machine will not too quickly kidnap this masterpiece of experimental visual invention and display it naively in future commercials.
continue


halme_web250











halme_web250








halme_web250

text

text

Achim Stiermann ist ein Künstler, der seine Arbeiten mitten in die Plastikgesellschaft und Konsumwelt stellt, der er die Baumaterialen und Elemente seiner Kunst entnimmt.
Seine Arbeiten sind ideenbasiert, transdisziplinär und dimensionsübergreifend. Oft operiert er im öffentlichen Raum, außerhalb des klassischen Ausstellungsrahmens.
Der Trinkhalmenthusiast verwendet auch sonst gerne weiche und fragile Materialien:
Das Profane des Alltags – neben den Trinkhalmen Nudeln, Zuckerwürfel, Styropor oder Pappkartons – setzt Stiermann in seinen Skulpturen und Installationen in einen formal und inhaltlich neuen Zusammenhang.
Achim Stiermann ist ein Spieler zwischen den Stoff- und Genrewelten, der in immer neuen Material- und Raumkombinationen Funktionen permanent auflöst und wieder neu zusammensetzt. In ihrer netzartigen Struktur vollführen die so entstandenen Raumzeichnungen eine Mimesis des Digitalen.
Seine Bildträger aus dem Alltag katapultiert er – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes – immer wieder in neue Dimensionen. Derart in Schwingung, Spannung und Entspannung versetzt und dem ursprünglichen Zweck entbunden, zeigen sie plötzlich ganz neue Eigenschaften: Das Banale ist komisch, funktional, witzig oder poetisch geworden – und manchmal all dies gleichzeitig.
In den Raumgebilden und Bildwelten des kreativen Handwerkers Stiermann prallen sie alle aufeinander: das Statische und das Bewegte, das Analoge und das Digitale, das Fragile und das Stabile, Chaos und Ordnung, der Zwang der Logik und ihr Scheitern, die Regel und ihre Ausnahme, das wasserdichte Konzept und der Strich durch die Rechnung – absurde Kombinationen mit subtilem Augenzwinkern.


Thomas Elsen
Volles Rohr. Achim Stiermann im Augsburger Höhmannhaus

Das Feld, in dem er künstlerisch agiert, ist anhand geläufiger Charakterisierungen kaum bestimmbar. Und er selbst lässt sich höchst ungern festlegbaren Kategorien zuordnen. Achim Stiermann arbeitet im Atelier genauso akribisch wie im öffentlichen Raum, er operiert transdisziplinär und als kreativer Experimentator im weitesten Sinn. Sein künstlerisches Handeln bewegt sich zwischen Spontanität und Hartnäckigkeit, Humor und experimenteller Neugier, sowie großer Präzision in der technischen Umsetzung seiner Vorhaben, die sich mit einer spürbaren Lust am Absurden mischt. Dies gilt für wohl alle Medien, die in seinen Projekten bislang Verwendung fanden: Für seine konzeptuelle Malerei und die kinetischen Objekte genauso, wie für die performativen Inszenierun- gen oder das Medium des bewegten Bildes. Stiermanns Ideen-Reservoir scheint noch längst nicht erschöpft, und das Spektrum der Formen, durch die Ideen zu Kunst werden, ist entsprechend groß.
weiterlesen


Marina Grzinic
Den Prozessor nachstellen
Über Roland Seidels und Achim Stiermanns »MAN OS 1 / Extraordinateur«
Springerin 03/06

Roland Seidels und Achim Stiermanns Projekt »MAN OS 1 / extraordinateur« ist eine performative Videoarbeit, die rund fünfzehn Minuten dauert, deren Realisierung die beiden Künstler aber einige Jahre gekostet hat. Die Arbeit wurde kürzlich vollendet, doch haftet ihr immer noch der Charakter eines Work-in-Progress an. Gut, kann man sagen, nichts Neues, heute geht alles in Richtung Prozessualität, die ein Hauptmerkmal zeitgenössischer Kunstwerke zu sein scheint. Doch die Logik hier ist eine andere, und es bleibt zu hoffen, dass die Mainstream-Medien-Kommerz-Maschine nicht allzu schnell auch dieses Meisterwerk experimenteller visueller Erfindungen entführen und zu Werbeclips verarbeiten wird.
weiterlesen


halme_web250





halme_web250








halme_web250