straws

straws

Roughly 15 years ago, Achim Stiermann began to stick drinking straws into oneanother. Fascinated by the creative potential, he strove to enhanced this technique further.

From the basic form of plastic tubes many possibillities to construct three dimensional objects emerge. Straws are quite light an appear fragile, nevertheless they possess a great stabiliy. Due to the material this is naturally limited. Depending on the construction principle, these straw objects keep their flexibility which is permitted by the most elastic elements of the whole.

In order to stick the straws into oneanother they are slit lenghthwise. In addition small holes are cut at the flexible bendy kinks.

To steady fassen the straws glueing proved to be inpractical. This joining problem was then solved by pricking a hot needle through them, thereby permanently melting them with each other.

As the drinking straw fastening tecknology is an innovation in straw contructing, Stiermann registerd it as an utility patent in 2012.

>>> dpma.de (in german)

Stiermann applied this technique in many of his art objects. He mainly uses bendy drinking straws with a diameter of 5 mm (sometines 6 mm with extra long bendy part, i.e. for „Space Suit“). Beneath static objects he also produced kinetic gadgets, wherein gear wheels and conveyor belts are also built of straws.

Independent of the artistic context, the technique can also be applied on other creative fields such as design and fashion. In addition solutions for technical problems within mechanics and robotics are also possible.

Halme

Halme

halme

halme

Vor ungefähr 15 Jahren begann Achim Stiermann damit, Trinkhalme ineinander zu stecken. Fasziniert von ihrem gestalterische Potential, entwickelte er die Technik kontinuierlich weiter.

Aus der Physik der Plastikrohre ergeben sich viele Möglichkeiten für den Bau dreidimensionaler Objekte: Die Halme sind ziemlich leicht und erscheinen fragil. Dennoch weisen sie eine hohe Stabilität auf, die materialbedingt auch ihre Grenzen hat. Je nach Konstruktionsprinzip behalten die Halmobjekte auch ihre durch den Knickteil vorgegebene Flexibilität.

Um sie ineinander zu stecken, werden die Halme der Länge nach eingeschlitzt. An den flexiblen Knickstellen werden zusätzlich kleine Löcher in die Halme eingeschnitten.

Um die Halme fest miteinander zu verbinden, hat sich Kleben als nicht praxistauglich erwiesen. Das Verbindungsproblem konnte gelöst werden, indem sie mit einer heißen Nadel durchstochen und so dauerhaft miteinander verschmolzen werden.

Da diese Trinkhalmstecktechnik eine technische Neuerung beim Halmbau darstellt, meldete Achim Stiermann sie 2012 als Gebrauchsmuster an.
>>> dpma.de

Achim Stiermann setzt die Technik bei einer Vielzahl seiner Kunstobjekte ein. Dabei verwendet er hauptsächlich Knicktrinkhalme mit 5mm Durchmesser (teilweise 6mm mit extra langem flexiblen Teil, z.B. “Raumanzug“). Neben statischen Objekten fertigte er auch kinetische Apparaturen, bei denen Zahnräder und Förderbänder aus Halmen konstruiert sind.

Die Technik lässt sich genreunabhängig auch auf anderen gestalterischen Feldern wie Design oder Mode einsetzen. Auch Lösungen für technische Anwendungen, etwa in der Mechanik oder Robotik, sind möglich.

Halme

Halme